RSS Feed

The 11th International Paleolimnology Symposium took place in Guadalajara, Mexico on 15-18th December 2009.

Lifetime Achievement Awards

At the 11th International Symposium in Guadalajara the IPA honoured Herb Wright, Dan Livingstone, Walt Dean and Frank Oldfield for their lifetime contributions to palaeolimnology. The text of their talks given on receipt of the award were published in 2010 in the Journal of Paleolimnology 44(2).

Herb WrightHerb Wright
Herbert E. Wright, Jr. is among the world’s most productive and highly recognized Quaternary scientists. He has lead a remarkable scientific career that has touched on many of the pivotal questions of recent earth history, he has mentored and inspired more than 70 graduate students and numerous visiting scholars from around the globe, and he has been the recipient of many of the highest awards in his field.

Herb continues to be actively engaged in science and to write and publish, and his home still serves, after almost 50 years, as the venue for Wednesday evening seminars in Quaternary paleoecology at the University of Minnesota. 

So I’d traveled the globe, not heeded nor aided,
To seek out a lake of my own,
Only to find, a world perforated
Like Swiss cheese by Herb’s Livingstone.

J.E. Almendinger

Herb’s paper can be found here

Dan Livingstone
Daniel Livingstone has now retired as the James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of Biology and Research Professor of Geology Earth & Ocean Sciences at Duke University. Dan’s contributions are wide-ranging, and include some of the pioneering work on Arctic and temperate lakes. However, Dan is perhaps best known for his pioneering work on African paleolimnology, where he and his students have made many important contributions. For example, using paleoenvironmental approaches, he had demonstrated that tropical climates were far more variable that many ecologists and climatologists used to think (and so high tropical biodiversity could no longer be attributed to climatic stability), and that glacial period cooling was associated with lower lake levels.

Dan was also an important catalyst in spearheading the deep-drilling work on African lakes. He is also very well known for other major contributions, not least of which was his work in the development of the piston sediment corer that most laboratories still use today, even more than 50 years after the original publication. Dan has served on the editorial board of the Journal of Paleolimnology since its inception in 1987.

Dan’s paper can be found here

Walt DeanWalt Dean
Walter Dean is one of the world’s most cited authors in the field of geochemistry of both lacustrine and marine sediments deposited from the Permian to modern times. Walt was launched into both palaeolimnology and palaeoceanography by his doctoral work on the Permian Castle varved anhydrite of the Delaware Basin of west Texas and New Mexico, a “saline lake” on the western edge of Pangea. He has published well over 200 papers, mainly in leading journals, including Science and Nature. His most important lake research-related contributions are related to the carbon cycle, Holocene records of palaeoclimate, and continental drilling. Walt was one of the driving forces of the Elk Lake project that led to a milestone publication of interdisciplinary lake research. Besides his scientific excellence and diversity, Walt impresses by his enthusiasm for collaboration, his humour, his willingness to share knowledge and experience, and his support of young scientists.

Walt’s paper can be found here

Frank OldfieldFrank Oldfield
Frank Oldfield has made outstanding contributions to palaeolimnology. In collaboration with Roy Thompson, he discovered the potential value of mineral magnetic properties of lake sediment cores, first as a rapid and non-destructive method of core correlation, and second as a powerful technique for environmental reconstruction. His research created the entirely new field of Environmental Magnetism and he defined its scope through pioneering work applied to studies of climate change, soil erosion, and pollution history. Separately, having realised the deficiencies of contemporary models for deriving 210Pb chronologies for lake sediments, he developed and, with Peter Appleby, refined new methods of calculating 210Pb ages, methods that are now used routinely by 210Pb labs throughout the world. His early insights into the potential role of recent lake sediments as an environmental archive inspired his many graduate students and it laid the foundation for the explosion of studies in recent palaeolimnology that has occurred over the last forty years. He has published over 200 scientific papers and he is still actively involved in palaeolimnological research.

Frank’s paper can be found here

Student Awards

The winners of the student prizes were Frederike Verbruggen (best oral presentation) and Alexandra Rouillard (best poster presentation). Both received Springer book tokens for $250.00

Group Photo

Below is a group photo from the meeting. A few names are missing. If you recognise yourself or you recognise a missing person please contact us.

11th IPA Symposium Group Photo

Key to group photo:
11th IPA Symposium Group Photo - Key

1 Colin Cooke
2 Mike Rosenmeier
3 Milt Ostrofsky
4 Amy Myrbo
5 Filippo Cassina
6 Frederike Verbruggen
7 ?
8 Jessica Hawryshyn
9 Holger Cremer
10 ?
11 Dick Brugam
12 ?
13 Erik Brown
14 Robert Dietz
15 Oliver Heiri
16 Jesse Vermaire
17 ?
18 Veli-Pekka Salonen
19 ?
20 Joshua Thienpont
21 Bernhard Diekmann
22 Gerhard Daut
23 Roberto Quinlan
24 Blas Valero-Garcés
25 Ian Walker
26 Thijs Van der Meeren
27 Maarten van Hardenbroek
28 Brian Cumming
29 Brendan Wiltse
30 Christian Bigler
31 Martin Sirios
32 Andy Henderson
33 Jennie Fluin
34 Neil Roberts
35 Frederick Bouchard
36 William Hobbs
37 Simon Hutchinson
38 Katherine Griffiths
39 ?
40 Crystal Hyatt
41 Katheen Ruhland
42 Sonja Hausmann
43 Maria Rieradevall
44 Sheri Fritz
45 Krystyna Milecka
46 Walter Dorfler
47 Krystyna Szeroczynska
48 Vania Stefanova
49 Chen Fahu
50 Adam Jeziorski
51 Yu Jun Qing
52 Dong Xuhui
53 Zhou Aifeng
54 Julian Scott
55 ?
56 Michael Rosen
57 Kristina Aresenault
58 Alexandra Rouillard
59 Melanie Kingsbury
60 Gloria Villaclara
61 Anna Wachnika
62 Katherine Velghe
63 Izabela Zawiska
64 Edyta Zawisza
65 Susanne Kihlman
66 Emily Kosonen
67 ?
68 ?
69 ?
70 Mihaela Enache
71 ?
72 Liseth Pérez
73 Julia Lorenschat
74 Antje Schwalb
75 María Velez
76 Dylan Blumentritt
77 Tomi P. Luoto
78 Patrick Rioual
79 Joy Ramstack
80 Jennifer Korosi
81 Susana Sosa
82 Beatriz Ortega
83 Margarita Caballero
84 Emi Ito
85 Dan Engstrom
86 Walt Dean
87 Dan Livingstone
88 Herb Wright
89 Rick Battarbee
90 John Smol
91 Mark Brenner
92 Socorro Lozano Garcia
93 Pedro Zarate
94 John Glew
95 Mary Beth Day
96 Susanna Blair
97 Johan Rydberg